DACAMERA presents Meta4 String Quartet

1515 Sul Ross Street
  • Presented By: Da Camera of Houston
  • Dates: November 15, 2022
  • Location: The Menil Collection
  • Address: 1515 Sul Ross Street
  • Phone: (713) 524-5050
  • Time: 7:30 PM
  • Price: $60
  • Admission: $60

The outstanding Finnish string quartet Meta4 makes their Houston debut. This award-winning quartet has earned a Record of the Year award from the Finnish Broadcasting Company as well as the Emma prize (the Finnish Grammy) for Classical Album of the Year. In their Houston debut, Meta4 explores works from the sound worlds of the Arctic Circle, from the Inuit themes of American composer Amy Beach’s String Quartet, to works of their fellow Finns Kaija Saarhiaho and Jean Sibelius. Inspired by Norwegian hardanger-fiddle tunes and rhythms of the Indian diaspora, Italo-Indian composer Krishna Nagaraja’s Stringar inhabits a timeless dimension where the boundaries between “folk,” “early” and “contemporary” are blurred.The music:Kaija Saariaho: Fleurs de neigeAmy Beach: String QuartetKrishna Nagaraja: StringarJean Sibelius: String Quartet in D Minor, Op. 56, “Voces Intimae”

Back to previous page