Live Music by Luba Dvorak

827 Frostwood Drive Houston, TX 77024
  • Presented By: Cowboy Surfer Bar
  • Dates: June 20, 2021
  • Location: Cowboy Surfer Bar
  • Address: 827 Frostwood Drive
  • Phone: (832) 538-0851
  • Time: 7:00 PM to 9:00 PM
  • Price: $20
  • Admission: $20
  • Area of Town: Memorial/Energy Corridor


American Sin is the latest album from country-rocker Luba Dvorak (pronounced Dvor-zhack). In black attire and armed with an acoustic guitar, Luba has been called a Springsteen-Dylan-Cash combo. The ten-song release takes influence from artists like Gary Stewart and Dwight Yoakam, with bright, raw guitar hooks and honest songwriting. The result is an easily-accessible guitar album that provides a classic country feel with a hint of the iconic Bakersfield sound mixed with Texas honky-tonk and marinated in some New York swagger. A style that Luba defines as “Brooklyn Twang.”

“I wanted to create a comfortable classic country album that has the feel of a well-worn pair of boots or pawn shop guitar.”

His heart-on-your-sleeve songwriting style resonates through raw, heart-wrenching vocals delivered in a relatable live off-the-floor style. The album was recorded in just one day at atomic sound in Brooklyn, New York.

Luba Dvorak has had a passion for music his whole life and hails from a long family lineage of musicians, including world renowned composer Antonin Dvorak. Originally born in Czechoslovakia, at age six his family emigrated to Vancouver, Canada and it was there, during high school that he formed his first band Terror of Tiny Town. The band played the bar-circuit while still in their teens and went on to release three indie CD’s and tour the U.S., Europe and Japan. A brief working relationship with producer Bill Bottrell (Sheryl Crow, Shelby Lynne, Tom Petty) would solidify Luba’s addiction to making music.

He would go on to front his own band Big Rig Sweeties for a few years, before eventually moving to New York City in 2005 after the sudden passing of his father. While in New York, Luba spent twelve years working in various roles throughout the music industry including session musician, side-man, producer and audio-engineer. He released four studio albums and produced records for other New York artists out of his Starr Street Studio.

The daily grind and hustle of the Big Apple eventually started to have an impact on his creative side and he was facing a bad case of writer’s block. Needing a change of scenery, he relocated to Houston, TX in 2017.

Shortly after the move, he won a scholarship to Steve Earle’s songwriting retreat Camp Copperhead with his song Queen of the Rodeo. The new inspiration and the Southern state-of-mind started to re-shape his songwriting style and in the fall of 2018 he headed into the studio with his long-time New York band.

Six songs from the one-day session were released in April 2019 as American Wino. Five classic country renditions intended as the opening act to American Sin, which is now available on all digital outlets.


Opened in November 2020, Cowboy Surfer is a casual bar in Memorial City, Houston keeping its namesake culture alive through drinks, eats, live music and art.


Please note, these live music tickets are not general admission standing room only tickets. Seating is assigned. To select your seating, click Tickets > Buy on Map.


All sales are final.

Back to previous page