Mendelssohn and Weinberg

May 10, 2019
Wortham Center/Cullen Theater
501 Texas Ave | Houston, TX 77002
Times: 8:00 PM
Mieczyslaw Weinberg 's Piano Quintet and Mendelssohn's Octet

Da Camera’s Time Future Time Past season closes with a performance of two towering works. Polish composer Mieczyslaw Weinberg is best known to Houston audiences for his rediscovered opera The Passenger, which had its American premiere at Houston Grand Opera in 2014. Weinberg’s intensely personal 1944 Piano Quintet is a fascinating wartime work, by turns melancholy, lyrical, manic and hallucinatory. Making their Da Camera debut, the Daedalus Quartet joins Da Camera favorites the Brentano Quartet for Mendelssohn’s sunny Octet, one of the most beloved works in all of chamber music.