Mozart and Aucoin

800 Bagby Street, Suite 300
(713) 524-5050
  • overview

    Ravel: String Quartet in F Major
    Matthew Aucoin: String Quartet (Houston premiere/Da Camera co-commission)
    Mozart: String Quintet No. 2 in C Minor, K. 406/516

    Brentano String Quartet (Mark Steinberg, violin; Serena Canin, violin; Misha Amory, viola; Nina Lee, cello); Hsin-Yun Huang, viola; Matthew Aucoin, guest composer

    Internationally recognized as one of the outstanding string quartets of their generation, the Brentano Quartet returns to Da Camera for the premiere of a new work by composer Matthew Aucoin, co-commissioned by Da Camera and Carnegie Hall. Just 29 and already a MacArthur “Genius” grant winner, Aucoin is LA Opera’s first ever Artist-in-Residence and one of the youngest composers ever commissioned by the Metropolitan Opera. Violist Hsin-Yun Huang joins the Brentano for Mozart’s powerful masterpiece.

    Composer Matthew Aucoin writes, “Attention, we are told, is a valuable commodity. It’s increasingly clear that my attention, and yours, is bought and sold every day in ways that are invisible to us. What is visible, however, is that most 21st-century “content” (a word that means everything and nothing) exists primarily in order to attract attention, to focus – just briefly – the restless eye. But is our attention really so easily manipulable? Whom are we paying when we “pay attention” in this way? Is there a kind of attention that can’t be sold? My new string quartet is organized according to the different forms of attention that it embodies or enacts. You could think of its three movements as three studies in distinct kinds of human attention.” Complete program notes

    “The diverse elements merge into a personal voice, deployed with prodigious technical skills.” – The New York Times on Matthew Aucoin

  • map