Pavel Haas Quartet

October 26, 2017
Stude Concert Hall in the Alice Pratt Brown Hall on the Rice University campus.
6100 Main | Houston, TX 77005
Phone: (713) 348-5400
Times: 7:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Admission: Ticket prices range from $25-$100. We also have senior and student pricing available online and at event.
Area of Town: Museum District

Rich, elegant playing and Bohemian tradition blend for an evening of joyous playing when this Czech ensemble comes to the stage. Founded in 2002 by violinist Veronika Jarůšková, the group takes its name from Czech composer Pavel Haas, deported from Czechoslovakia in 1941 and who later died at Auschwitz. Their stirring setting of Schubert’s “Rosamunde” quartet showcases the piece’s melancholy and longing. Dedicated to his wife, Nina, following her death from cancer, Shostakovich’s lyric quartet echoes with love and mourning, while Dvorak’s Quartet in A-flat Major showcases Pavel’s lush, melodic form.Schubert, Quartet in A Minor, D. 804, "Rosamunde"Shostakovich, Quartet No. 7 in F# Minor, Op. 108Dvorák, Quartet in Ab Major, Op. 105

The information provided here is accurate to the best of our knowledge at the time of submission. Please verify details via the link provided to ensure that they are correct.