ROCO Connections: Journey to America

Houston, TX 77004
  • Presented By: River Oaks Chamber Orchestra
  • Dates: March 11, 2021
  • Location: LiveStream
  • Phone: (713) 665-2700
  • Time: 7:00 PM
  • Price: Free
  • Admission: Free
  • Free Admission: Yes
ROCO's Season 16 Connections series concludes with an intimate, livestreamed concert from Holocaust Museum Houston, featuring a world premiere from Afghan composer Milad Yousufi, co-commissioned by ROCO and the Winsor Music Consortium.
The quintet, entitled My Journey to America, is a suite of five short movements, each preceded by a spoken narrative by Yousufi, describing his journey from his dramatic birth story in Kabul to becoming a refugee in New York City.
The performance will also feature chamber works by several composers who immigrated to America as well, including Tom Hinck, Bohuslav Martinu, Erich Wolfgang Korngold, and Igor Stravinsky.
Watch free here on Facebook, or at YouTube, or!
Back to previous page