Weinberg and Mendelssohn

May 10, 2019
501 Texas Ave | Houston, TX 77002
Phone: (713) 524-5050
Times: 8:00 PM
Admission: $37.50-$67.50
Area of Town: Downtown

Weinberg and MendelssohnDaedalus Quartet Brentano QuartetSarah Rothenberg, pianoMieczysław Weinberg: Piano QuintetMendelssohn: Octet in E-flat Major, Op. 20“a hidden 20th-century master…perhaps as prolific as Shostakovich and hardly less gifted.” – The New York Times on Mieczysław Weinberg “one of the most interesting composers of the 20th century… of equal strength and occasionally even more personal in his music than Shostakovich.” — Gidon Kremer on Mieczysław WeinbergDaedalus Quartet (Min-Young Kim, violin; Matilda Kaul, violin; Jessica Thompson, viola; Thomas Kraines, cello); Brentano Quartet (Mark Steinberg, violin; Serena Canin, violin; Misha Amory, viola; Nina Lee, cello); Sarah Rothenberg, pianoSince Houston Grand Opera’s revival of Mieczyslaw Weinberg’s opera, The Passenger, the posthumous reputation of this brilliant composer continues to grow. Weinberg’s Piano Quintet, symphonic in scale and dramatic scope, is one of the greatest works of this form of the 20th century. Don’t miss this rare performance, as the celebrated Daedalus Quartet makes its Da Camera debut with Artistic Director Sarah Rothenberg. The beloved Brentano Quartet joins the Daedalus for Mendelssohn’s dazzling Octet, bringing the season to a rousing close.“One of the finest young groups to emerge in our current golden age of string quartets.” — The New Yorker on the Daedalus Quartet“Perfection may be an impossible goal in art, as in life, but the Brentano comes close” — Cleveland Plain Dealer“Rothenberg’s performance…was exemplary…She has a particular affinity for 20th-century music, performing these works with relaxed, understanding, authority.” — Houston Chronicle